Closing in on the last 20K!

If you’ve been following my progress on Pieces of it All, my goal was 90K. After some plot revisions and discussions with an author friend, I’ve adjusted my goal to 80K. I’m actually reaching for 85K on the final product, but for my nice line moving along in Scrivener, it’s now 80K 🙂

What does this mean? It means that I have LESS than 20K to write! This is so exciting, yet completely overwhelming at the same time. I find myself a slave to my word count. I should not be doing this, but I am. It makes me sick to my stomach when I’ve been writing and writing and look at my final word count and think, “Crap, I’ve gotten in a lot less than I intended.” However, on the flip side of things, it is somewhat helping. 

I had 7 beta readers. They were wonderful. It was comprised of 5 authors and 2 readers. They gave incredible feedback. In fact, the feedback was SO good, that they’re the reason for my struggle. I love them anyway. Why? Because they are making the story better. There was one major story line deleted, another character added, and more time spent on developing another character. The development of this character is what is adding my words.

My story revolves around 2 people. It’s a love story, sure, but it’s also a story about taking all the pieces of your life and deciding who you are and who you want to beI spent a lot of time on one character on my other drafts. I spent so much time on her, that the readers didn’t like my other character at all. They didn’t know why he was there and how anyone wanted to spend any time around him. I have spent a majority of the last month changing that.

I’ve spent a lot of time on this character. In fact, I think he is becoming my favorite character by far. Go figure.

As I write a little every day, my 80K goal starts to feel farther and farther away. Although, I know it’s not. At the rate I am going, I should be able to do a quick edit mid-February and get this to my critique partner by March. This probably means I’m looking more at a May publication date than April. Don’t fret – it’s a better choice, and because of it, will be a better book!

Leave a Reply

