A Geek Romance: Romance is the Key Word

What did I take away from Backward Compatible by Sarah Daltry & Pete Clark? A good old fashioned romance can still be written.

If you haven’t noticed, there’s a craze in books lately. Sex. And more sex. And even more sex. The plot typically goes that a young woman meets an older man that has nightmares about sexual abuse and this girl falls in love with him and they have sex every other page of the book. You’ve read them – so have I. Backward Compatible is the complete opposite of those books.

The authors will warn you that there is NO SEX in this book. There really isn’t. There’s lots of swearing, lots of game play, and lots of young romance. You know, those awkward moments between a boy and a girl where they can’t admit to each other that they like each other – like really, like LIKE each other, and they steal looks at one another and just want to spend time together. This book is about those moments.

I’ll admit it – I’m not a gamer. Unless Candy Crush counts, which I know it doesn’t 🙂 That is made clear by the reference to the game in the book! However, advertised as a GEEK ROMANCE, I couldn’t wait to read this book. Since I am not a gamer, a lot of the references may or may not have gone over my head, but that didn’t matter. I laughed throughout this book. I enjoyed the romance. I KNEW the characters. I had many favorite parts in this book, but my absolute favorite part was when Katie, one of the main characters, cried. Yes. That was my favorite part. She was real in that moment. Despite her tough, I don’t care exterior, she was real.

I read this book over the weekend. It’s a quick read and it’s fun. You’ll love it! And, since it takes place over Christmas, still a holiday read!

 

Leave a Reply

