Take Me Home for Christmas – Review of my first “Holiday” read

Take Me Home for Christmas by Brenda Novak was my first read in December for my “holiday only reads.” Overall, I really enjoyed the book. The initial premise was interesting and I was sucked in from the beginning. Take Me Home for Christmas is part of a long series; however, each book can be meant to be read on its’ own. While this held true, there were some drawbacks to not having read the other books. This mainly was due to characters. There are a ton of characters throughout the series and many of them are present in this book. The author gave a quick back story on those introduced from other books, but I found the addition of some of these characters confusing and hard to keep track.

When it came to the main characters, Ted and Sophia, I really enjoyed them and liked them both. Brenda Novak did a wonderful job at building believable, likable characters.

This book gets 4 out of 5 stars from me. I was disappointed that the title Take Me Home for Christmas gives the impression that it will take place over the holiday season, when in reality over 3/4 of the book is October and November.

Next on my reading list for the holidays is A Perfect Holiday Fling by Farrah Rochon.

Leave a Reply

