Book Review: Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

Have you ever read a book that touched you in a way you never thought a book could? I have. And I read that book today.

I started the book Wintergirls at 5:15 this morning. I finished at 1:40 this afternoon. 

This book throws you into the life of a girl dealing with anorexia and the loss of her best friend to the disease, of which she is still struggling. Lia has lost her best friend Cassie and is haunted by her ghost. Not only is Lia anorexic, but she is also a cutter. Throughout the book, she struggles with her relationships with her dad, mom and stepmom and trying to be a big sister to her stepsister. 

By the end of this book, I was literally on the edge of my seat, bouncing my leg up and down, biting my nails and holding in the tears. I knew this character. I didn’t realize I knew this character until I read this book. I reflected back on my high school years and a friendship that I always questioned and tried hard to understand. I knew this friend was a cutter, but I realize now it was so much more than that.

This book was just incredible. I loved every moment of it. I recommend it to everyone. It is definitely a must read.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

