What R.L. Stine Taught Me …

I have always been a bookworm. I recall my favorite authors as a child, pre-teen, and teenager. The first author that always comes to mind is R.L. Stine. 

I was a Fear Street junkie.

I believe I may have read every Fear Street book until I was too old to think it was cool anymore to read them. Of course, now I probably would go back to read them all.

The Fear Street books were quick reads. I could devour one in a matter of hours. The thing I loved about R.L. Stine’s books, despite their predictability, was the pacing.

Every chapter of a Fear Street book ended with a sentence that hooked me. I had to keep reading. He often wrote short sentences. Often times, he would write a simple word. I always wanted more after each chapter.

I never felt that you got to know a character in one of his Fear Street books. At least you didn’t get to know him or her enough to really care what happened. But his pacing kept me hooked. I couldn’t put it down.

I learned the importance of ending a chapter on a note to leave the reader wanting more. I never felt I could just stop reading one of his books. He always left me wanting to see what was behind that door … the one we all know the main character never should have opened …

Leave a Reply

