Libraries Rule! And so did this book…

Leaving the library one day, I picked up a copy of Library Page, as I usually do. On the back of the short newsletter was a full page ad for the book, “The World’s Strongest Librarian” by Josh Hanagarne. The title alone made me pledge to read it. I went online to You Tube and watched the trailer for the book. I immediately went online and ordered the hardcover.

This memoir is the story of Josh Hanagarne and his journey as he dealt with his Tourette’s Syndrome. While this was the focus of the book, I found myself more intrigued by his love affair with books. Also intriguing was his Mormon faith and struggle with it.

This is a quotable book. Here are some of my favorites:

1.) “We lose the boys first. They’re excited about reading at first, but once they get tight with someone who looks down on reading, knowledge, or librarians, their opinions change.” Reading this saddens me and reinforces why I always feed the desire to read when I see it in any child.

2.) “If she saw no issues w/ binding herself to a God she’d never seen, I didn’t see why I couldn’t bind myself to a guy out in Maine who wrote horror stories.” Josh’s response to his mom forbidding him to read Stephen King.

3.) “If hate & fear have ignorance at their core, maybe the library can curb their effects, if only by offering ideas & neutrality.” The library is a wealth of info. Use it.

4.) “A library is a miracle. A place where you can learn just about anything, for free. A place where your mind can come alive.” I remember spending hours in the library when I was younger, just taking in all of the books that surrounded me.

I highly recommend this book to everyone. I never read books twice. This one, I will be rereading, and I will be taking my highlighter along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

