I am not who I say I am: Impostor Syndrome

I call myself a writer. 

Some days, this is true. Other days, I am an impostor.

Over the past few days, I have listened to a few podcasts and read a few articles about Impostor Syndrome. This can be applied to any situation, but these specifically were geared toward writers. Most writers deal with this. If they haven’t, they’re lucky. But I am sure somewhere between birth and being on the NY Times Best Seller list, it has occurred, at least once.

What is Impostor Syndrome? It’s simple. I am not who I say I am. I am pretending to be a writer, but we all know that there is no way anyone would want to read anything I write. I am a fool to believe that they would. And if they did, no one would like it. They would question why I am even writing it.

That is Impostor Syndrome. The lack of confidence, the loathing and self doubt that is present with my writing. Of course it’s not true. I am a writer. People have read my book and some have asked when my next one will be done. (I have no idea, by the way. Hopefully by the fall.)

How do you deal with it? You just try to ignore it. I’ll have ten minutes, ten hours, ten days that I may have this … and then it goes away and it comes back.

By definition, an impostor is: one that assumes false identity or title for the purpose of deception.

Be assured I would not deceive you. I only lie to myself about my capabilities as a writer. I know in my heart my strengths and weaknesses. The impostor may sometimes take over, but the real me will always win.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

