Dealing with insecurities …

Yesterday while I was driving, the first line of a new novel came to me. I quickly used One Note to record it. The idea came to me, and I think it’s a spectacular idea. The book truly could be amazing. But my confidence to write it is not there.

There are certain things I am comfortable writing, and other things that strike worries or fears in my brain. Some stories need to be written, but the emotion that overtakes me even thinking about writing it creates a weight on my shoulders. As a reader, I become so involved in character’s lives. I feel like I know them, they are a part of me. When you are the one writing the words, it is that much closer to your heart.

This idea I have presents many questions about things I am uncertain of myself. Maybe they are questions I don’t want answered; answers that are best left unanswered.

I have the idea. I wrote it down. I am currently working on editing my newest project, so it would be on the back burner anyway. Maybe in a few months I will gain the confidence to write this story.

Writers, how do you deal with insecurities? I keep thinking that this story would be amazing, but someone else should write it. I shouldn’t be thinking that way! Just like George Costanza stuffs his sorry’s in a sock, maybe I need to do the same with my lack of confidence! 🙂

One comment

  1. I think the thing about insecurities as a writer is that a lot of it shows what you think about your writing and yourself. Look at some of the big names, like Stephen King or Dean Koontz, Randy Ingermanson or Nora Roberts. Even they get not-so-stellar reviews, and not everyone loves their stuff. (Me? I adore Stephen King as a writer, but I just can’t enjoy his books as a reader.)

    But ask them about insecurities, and if they mention any, it has to do with personal struggles they have as writers. They mention in the beginning they may have had all those pedestrian insecurities, but as they found their voice and the confidence in their own writing, those insecurities disappeared.

    If you never ask yourself the tough questions, you’ll never find the answers. And if you leave them unanswered, you will always feel that insecurity because its roots are in not knowing those answers. Whatever they are for you, those questions (and the answers) are part of who you are. If you don’t know who you are, if you refuse to be honest with yourself, how can you expect to write in a true and honest voice and have readers take you seriously?

    Who you are as a writer is the same as who you are as a person. Not everyone is going to love you. That’s to be expected, and it’s totally fine. Stand firm. For those who don’t like who you are, tell them tough ish and hit the road. Your voice as a writer comes from who you are, and readers can tell when you’re not being honest. Find those answers, accept who you are, write what you are, and embrace all of it. People will love your voice.

Leave a Reply

