Review of Darby Davenport’s “Walk Away with Me”

I gave this 3 of 5 stars

This book was sent as an ARC as Darby Davenport’s debut novella under the new pen name. As a dog lover, I was very excited to read this book. The one sentence description – Two dog owners meet and fall in love.

Overall, I enjoyed the book. I read it quickly – in just about two days. I was disappointed that it was not longer as I really feel that the book could have benefited greatly from more focus on the relationships the owners had with the dogs, as well as the back story with both of them.

I found the two POV’s with each chapter very distracting. I thought the gears shifted too quickly between characters. I would have preferred longer chapters with each chapter in a POV, instead of short chapters covering both characters.

The romantic scenes were excellent.I could feel the heat between the characters. The descriptions were good.

I will definitely read a full – length novel by Davenport. I think with a longer word length, this book would have been excellent.

Leave a Reply

